30 Days: 30 Albums | Ursula 1000 – Here Comes Tomorrow

A few years ago, when tracking down anything…and I mean anything that Cristina Monet might have done in the interminable slog following her 1983 “Sleep It Off” opus, I came across the Ursula 1000 album “Here Comes Tomorrow” ca. 2005, with a track actually featuring our heroine. It went on my want list for several years, and when in Amoeba Hollywood, looking for the second Wrangler album that was not in the “electronica” section, I found a cheap copy. What’s it like?

Eighteenth Street Lounge Music ‎| US | CD | 2006 | ESL091

# 26Ursula 1000: Here Comes Tomorrow US CD [2005]

  1. Kaboom!
  2. Hello! Let’s Go To A Disco
  3. Got Cha
  4. Electrik Boogie
  5. Two Tone Rocka
  6. Boop
  7. Mirkin The Mystic
  8. Urgent/Anxious
  9. Descarga En El Discoteca
  10. Arrastão
  11. Ragnarock
  12. Here Comes Tomorrow

“Kaboom!” got me off to a bad start. This was going to be one of those sampladelic kitch big beat extravaganzas. I was an early adopter of Dee-Lite and Pizzicato 5 but the likes of those were hardly my main musical dish. I was listening to this in my car growing very impatient as the goofy, E-Z breakbeat track tested me… and found me hitting the FF button. The next cut was an exercise in Gary Glitter pastiche. It seemed to drag on.

“Elektrik Boogie” was a cut in the vein of the sleazy electro of Laid Back’s “White Horse” with a falsetto Prince style vocal from Lukasz Gottwald. It didn’t make me forget Prince or even Laid Back. The female backing vocals [sound bites, really] didn’t help a bit. It wasn’t until the zippy rocksteady of “Two Tone Rocka” that I actually found myself enjoying this. The trombone of J. Walter Hawkes helped to make this one a winner.

Then came the interminable “Boop,” which featured goo-goo girl style scatting in the manner the title suggested by Barbara De Dominicis. This was like water on the oil of my soul. Thankfully, Cristina was next. “Urgent/Anxious” was a fairly nondescript backing track ennobled by her still undimmed delivery. Too bad the lyrics [not by Cristina, sadly] only begin to approximate the venom-dipped pearls I’ve become accustomed to have dropping from her glossy lips.

The rest of the program dipped more vividly into Latin sounds with Los Amigos Invisiblés creating a tropical mixture with a jarring [but welcome] funk middle eight on “Descarga En La Discoteca.” The title track was long at 6:05 [but still seemed shorter than “Boop”] but it ended the album on a sort of dignified plane, and it had begun so modestly.

This type of album is not typically my thing, but a few more plays have revealed subtle charms with most of the music. I was just making a three-bean salad in my kitchen while listening to this and it actually inspired a bit of mambo dancing, so this one won’t be the abject disaster I was thinking right off the top. And kudos to Ursula 1000 for digging up Cristina Monet to put her back in front of the mic, where she belongs, for the first time in 22 years. It’s no “What’s A Girl To Do” but “Urgent Anxious” was better than nothing. In the “Artist I’ve Waited Decades For A New Generation to Reintroduce” sweepstakes, it’s a poor second to Gina X and Austra’s “Mayan Drums” single, but better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick by far. I need that 12″ with the Ladytron remix!!!!

CONCLUSION: enjoy…sort of

About postpunkmonk

graphic design | software UI design | remastering vinyl • record collector • satire • non-fiction
This entry was posted in 30 Days - 30 Albums, Deadpan Women, Record Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days: 30 Albums | Ursula 1000 – Here Comes Tomorrow

  1. Los Amigos Invisiblés are an interesting and noteworthy band in their own right for lovers of rock en español. I am astonished that Christina came out of retirement for this, and that one album can pull such diversity of talent within its limitations still barely pass muster.


    • postpunkmonk says:

      chasinvictoria – To be fair, I enjoyed it a little more each time I played it. It’s more of a “DJ thing” that a “band” album and that’s where my interests lie. Track length for a DJ project is relatively short, which is good for the genre. I think it boiled down to Cristina was on this record but it was no Cristina record.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.