The OMD Resurgence Continues Unabated With The “Punishment Of Luxury”

100% Records | UK | CD | 2017

Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark: The Punishment Of Luxury UK CD [2017]

  1. The Punishment of Luxury
  2. Isotype
  3. One More Time
  4. Precision & Decay
  5. As We Open, So We Close
  6. What Have We Done
  7. Robot Man
  8. Art Eats Art
  9. Kiss Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Bang
  10. La Mitrailleuse
  11. Ghost Star
  12. The View From Here

We had a vague sense that OMD’s latest opus would be released by this Fall and today, the word was out: “The Punishment Of Luxury” is now prepped for a available for pre-order; it launches on September 1st. Andy McCluskey had previously talked about the inspirations for the album’s songs here. He stated that glitch was going to inform some of the sonics for this album, but he said that last time, too, and I was not convinced. Elsewhere, he promised that the sonic palette was even more stripped down than last time. I liked the direct, “8-tracks” approach of “English Electric.” I thought the songs were strong and cohesive. Where the album lagged for me was in the sound design/arrangements.

The sonics were too simple and lacked chiaroscuro, so to speak. I preferred the rich, analog productions of their early ’79-’83 period as being top drawer. It’s more effective at getting across the fundamental ambiguity of the band’s songwriting ethos which sees them unsure about how they should be feeling about the subjects they write about. When the simple sound palette is applied to songs that were not straightforward in their presentation, it created cognitive dissonance for me.

I have certainly liked the two new OMD albums released in 2010 and 2014. They are definitely trying to achieve something, even if they fall somewhat short of the mark. The new album has a lead off track, “La Mitrailleuse,” which is french for “the machine gun.” The song was inspired by the CRW Nevision World War I era painting at left. It seems like the band are back to their usual tropes which like to blend art, science, and politics. One can watch the video, but only on their FB page, so I will forego the “pleasure.”

As usual, there are sufficient more packages to suit the “needs” of a wide variety of OMD fans. Everything from a simple CD to… well, let’s lay it out. All formats include DL version of album.

  • CASSETTE – £8/$10
  • CD – £9/$12
  • CD/DVD – album documentary – £12/$15
  • LP [black] in die-cut sleeve – £20/$26
  • LP [yellow] in die-cut sleeve – £22/$28
  • CD/DVD/LP [yellow] – £30/$39
  • Deluxe Signed Book Package
    • CD/DVD
    • LP [red – only in this bundle]
    • Bonus Demo CD
    • Numbered signed certificate [signed by Andy + Paul]
    • 12″ x 12″ hardcover book/sleeve w/24 pp. liner notes
    • Foil-stamped slipcase – £55/$71
  • Big Bundle
    • CD/DVD
    • LP [yellow]
    • Deluxe Signed Book Package – £85/$110
  • Really Big Bundle
    • Big Bundle
    • LP [black] – £100/$129

The 400 signed yellow LPs are already gone in less than 12 hours. So are the 500 signed CD/DVD packages, so know that there is a demand for these things. OMD used host these packages on their webstore, but of late, they have become Pledge Music experts, and that seems to be working for them. Knowing my sickness, the usual, medium priced package is the one that makes sense for me. I just want the CD/DVD and demo CD like I always get for about £50. The vinyl is chaff for me, but if I want that demo disc, there we are. And hmmm… the hipster cassette trend shows no signs of abating. This is the first OMD cassette since the Dutch cassette of “Universal” in 1996. No word on the numbers available on the package I want, but since two price points [at 400/500 copies] have already sold out, I guess I need to commit to the Deluxe Signed Book Package sooner than later! Seeing as to how it is the only place for the red vinyl LP, it can’t be infinite. Maybe in September we need to have an OMD Rock G.P.A.® since a new album by a core collection band usually triggers that sort of event. Interested in pre-ordering OMD’s latest? Click the banner below.

– 30 –

About postpunkmonk

graphic design | software UI design | media design • record collector • satire • non-fiction
This entry was posted in Core Collection, Want List and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The OMD Resurgence Continues Unabated With The “Punishment Of Luxury”

  1. Brian says:

    So excited for the new album. I thought the last two albums were excellent, as well as the live material from shows this decade. Would really enjoy an OMD Rock G.P.A., but I may start to have pity for you around the Pacific Age.


    • postpunkmonk says:

      Brian – As flat as that album was, it got worse afterward! “Sugar Tax” was as boring as the day was long.


      • Brian says:

        Couldn’t agree more. Some lean years there.


      • ISTR liking a track or two off the album, but I’m pretty sure I only have remixes/singles from that period (for “Sailing” and “Pandora’s Box”) rather than the album itself. I’d forgotten that the album actually lacked the title track, and it was issued only as a b-side later!


        • postpunkmonk says:

          chasinvictoria – “Sailing On The Seven Seas” was a decent enough single, but the album itself was almost wall-to-wall mid-tempo ballads; the kiss of death [unless your band is named ‘Duran Duran’]. Worse yet, damn near every song is the dreaded 4:20 in length!!!


  2. Echorich says:

    Well that took no time at all to make mine as a pre-order. The strength of their last effort English Electric meant that that album is now among my top 3 favorite OMD albums. I understand you reservation with regard to the sonics, but OMD has never seems nostalgic in their approach so maybe the warmth may not have been as apparent as one may have preferred on EE, but the musical journey from opening to close, and including the b-sides that accompanied the singles was so very satisfying. The tandem of Metroland and Night Cafe is just classic OMD for me. Dresden is another classic with gleeming machine like musical precision set against Andy’s emotional vocals.
    What intrigues me with the new album is their seems to be some real multi discipline artist influences that will be at work informing the music. This usually means a great result in OMD’s hands.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s