Shriekback Act Fast – Jam Science Has Already Left The Building

Shriekback | UK | 2xCD | 2014

Shriekback | UK | 2xCD | 2014

Shriekback: Jam Science UK 2xCD [2014]

CD 1 – Album + bonus

  1. Hand On My Heart
  2. Newhome
  3. Achtung
  4. Partyline
  5. Midnight Maps
  6. Mercy Dash
  7. Under The Lights
  8. My Careful Hands
  9. Suck
  10. Hubris
  11. International
  12. Pressure
  13. Big Sharp Teeth
  14. Carrying Cameras
  15. Jumping On The Ribcage [remix]
  16. Cloud of Nails
  17. Mistah Linn, He Dead

CD 2 – Live @ Hatfield Poly ’84

  1. New Home
  2. Mothloop
  3. Big Sharp Teeth
  4. Hand On My Heart
  5. A Kind Of Fascination
  6. Health & Knowledge & Wealth & Power
  7. Feelers
  8. White Out
  9. Suck
  10. My Spine (Is The Bassline)
  11. Untitled
  12. Mercy Dash

shriekback - handonmyheart12BIt was only the first week in August that Shriekback was gauging response to a mooted reissue of “Jam Science.” I stumbled upon this a week later, and less than three fortnights out, it’s already in the world. That’s decisive action! The final track listing includes some pleasing curveballs. The band thoughtfully included the two tracks exclusive to the Dutch Y Records “bootleg” version, “International” and “Pressure.” “Big Sharp Teeth” and “Carrying Cameras” date from the demo period of the album and were previously released in 2001 on the OOP “Aberrations ’81-’84.” Finally, the remixes of “Hand On My Heart” [SHRK 221] by Groucho Smykle and Adrian Sherwood were fit into the program.

The Hatfield Poly show, as previously issued on CD-R by the band comprise the second disc. The set retailed for £10.00 + shipping and has already reached the hands of Shriek-fans who acted early. I ordered my copy last week, a rare indulgence considering my numbers are way down this year due to saving all surplus monies for a big, honking vacation [that crucially, includes trips to possibly all Amoeba stores] that looms large in just less than a month! Fortunately, the advance word from reader nick, who already has his copy in hand reveals that all is well with the world. Though the package was mastered from pristine vinyl [honorably revealed up front in the webstore] on a SOTA turntable and cartridge by Shriekback’s engineer Stuart Rowe with loving care, the all important final step to satisfy this Monk was taken. It is a manufactured CD, not a CD-R. I now await the copy hopefully winging its way across the Atlantic to my humble Record Cell. Order your copy here. I will report on this later. Next up, bring on that “Care” reissue, gents… but could you wait until I get back from my vacation?

– 30 –

About postpunkmonk

graphic design | software UI design | remastering vinyl • record collector • satire • non-fiction
This entry was posted in Core Collection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shriekback Act Fast – Jam Science Has Already Left The Building

  1. Simon H says:

    Received mine this week…initial listen sounded good. Very reasonable price.


  2. Simon H says:

    Very true! A vinyl transfer isn’t ideal but seems they’ve put some love into this and done their best.
    Didn’t want to mention, but have my ticket for Simple Minds in Bristol next year…hope Big Music lives up to expectations!


    • postpunkmonk says:

      Simon H – Brian Ware has sampled the Soundcloud previews and is highly enthusiastic. As were all of the commenting members of the highly fractious membership of the [unofficial] SoSimpleMinded forum. Me? I’m waiting until I have the album in hand. If you like to peek under the wrapper, here you go:


    • postpunkmonk says:

      Simon H – In this fallen world vinyl rips happen. I can’t cast stones. It’s what I used to do when I had free time. I’m here to tell you that it can sound pretty good under good circumstances, and in any case trumps a missing master tape.


  3. Simon H says:

    Agree, happy for them to do this and hopefully receive small but I’m sure overdue royalties!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.